About Royal Arch Freemasonry

Royal Arch Freemasonry, the Supreme Degree of the Holy Royal Arch, explores the moral teachings of the relationship between humanity and its Creator by taking allegories and symbolism from the Old Testament accounts of the rebuilding of the second temple in Jerusalem and applying them to everyday life.

Open to those who have been Master Masons for at least 12 months and remain financial members of a Craft Lodge in Western Australia, it is a "discovery degree" which makes those of its candidates who study its content more aware of each person\'s potential for living a life which benefits others and is in harmony with the God of their particular faith.

In Royal Arch Freemasonry, the Masonic story of the Third Degree (which is based on the building of King Solomon\'s Temple in Jerusalem) is extended by using the Biblical history of the subsequent destruction of the temple, the enslavement of the Hebrews, their release and subsequent rebuilding of the Second Temple. The Royal Arch Degree takes allegories from this biblical history to not only complete elements Craft Freemasonry leaves unresolved, particulary in its traditional history, but also to further illustrate the relationship between humanity and its Creator.

The nature of this spiritual aspect is the central message of the Royal Arch, which continues the journey of self-knowledge contained in the three Craft degrees. In that sense, the Royal Arch completes the practical lessons of the Craft by a contemplation of man\'s spiritual nature which reinforces and supports what he has already learned from his own religion’s teachings.

If you are a Freemason who took the Third Degree but felt at the end of the ceremony something was missing or left unresolved; then this was no accident. Those unresolved issues of the Master Mason\'s Degree are finalised in the story of the discovery of the Holy Royal Arch of Jerusalem.

For further information about joining a Royal Arch Chapter in Western Australia, contact our administration office on (08) 9355 4893 and ask for an application pack. There are also many Royal Arch Freemasons in every Western Australian Craft Lodge, so taking the next step could just be as simple as talking to the Brother next to you at your regular monthly meeting. Another alternative is to ask your Lodge Secretary for details of those members who have already joined the Supreme Degree of the Holy Royal Arch.

If you are not already a Freemason, but have a sense of intrigue about the world\'s largest and oldest fraternity which has a written history dating back to the 1300s and an even older oral tradition dedicated to fostering tolerance of all religions and nationalities, then your inquiry is most welcome and will be treated with dignity and respect.

The Order in Western Australia

About a fifth of the Freemasons in Western Australia belong to the Supreme Degree of the Holy Royal Arch, which is one of the highest membership percentages in Australasia. While the Royal Arch degree is the logical extension of the third degree of Craft Freemasonry, throughout the world it is administered by separate Grand Bodies. However, as is the case in most jurisdictions, the Royal Arch and Craft degrees in Western Australia share administrative offices in Perth city, and enjoy a harmonious working relationship with many common goals.

The Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Western Australia controls within its jurisdiction the degrees of:

  • Mark Master Mason.
    Worshipful Mark Master *
  • Excellent Master Mason.
  • Royal Arch.
    Third Principal *
    Second Principal *
    First Principal *
  • Royal Ark Mariner.
    Worshipful Commander Noah *
  • Red Cross of Babylon.
  • Knight of the East and West..
    Most Excellent Chief *
  • Most Excellent Master.
  • Royal Master.
  • Select Master.
  • Super Excellent Master.
    Thrice Illustrious Master *
    * indicates a chair degree of the preceding Order.

These Degrees follow chonological events from the building of the first temple to the rebuilding of the second and use imagery and symbolism from these events to communicate elementsx of the system of morality which is universal Freemasonry.

The Royal Arch Degree is also the pathway to many other important Masonic Orders:

  • The Red Cross of Constantine (The Masonic and Military Order of the Red Cross of Constantine and the Order of the Holy Sepulchre and St. John the Evangelist).
  • The Knights Templar (The United, Religious and Military Orders of the Temple and the Order of St John of Jerusalem, Palestine, Rhodes and Malta).
  • Knight Templar Priests.
  • The Royal Order of Scotland.
  • The Allied Masonic Degrees.
  • The Operatives (The Worshipful Society of Free Masons, Rough Masons, Wallers, Slaters, Pavoirs, Plaisterers and Bricklayers).
  • The Rectified Scottish Rite